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Disability and Paid Family Leave Insurance Programs

California’s State Disability Insurance (SDI) program provides
Disability Insurance (DI) benefits to eligible workers who lose
wages when they are unable to perform their regular or cus-
tomary work due to illness, injury, pregnancy or childbirth.

Paid Family Leave (PFL), a component of the SDI program,
provides benefits for individuals caring for a seriously ill child,
spouse, parent, or registered domestic partner, or bonding with
a new minor child.

SDI is funded entirely through employee payroll withholding.
Both the wage ceiling and tax rates are adjusted annually by
law, as are the weekly benefits. The 2007 SDI tax rate (which
includes PFL) is 0.6% of taxable wages up to $83,389. The
maximum contribution is $500.33.

DI benefits may be received for 52 weeks. PFL benefits may
be received for six weeks in a 12-month period. Both DI and
PFL require a seven-day waiting period during which benefits
are not paid with the exception of a claimant transitioning
from a DI maternity claim to a PFL bonding claim.

The minimum weekly benefit is $50; the weekly maximum is
$882. Benefits may not be received from both programs si-
multaneously.

Employees may obtain DI claim forms and more information
by calling 800-480-3287. Claim forms are also available at
www.edd.ca.gov/direp/diadvis2501.htm and from medical pro-
viders.

Child Support Wage Withholding Process

Employees may obtain PFL claim forms and more information
by calling 877-238-4373.

Employers are required to:
® Remit monies withheld from employees for SDI to EDD.

® Post the Notice to Employees (DE 1857A), available at
www.edd.ca.gov/uirep/de1857a.pdf.

® Provide new employees with the pamphlets State Disability
Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) available at www.edd.ca.gov/
direp/de2515.pdf, and Paid Family Leave Insurance Provisions
(DE 2511) available at www.edd.ca.gov/direp/de2511.pdf.

* Provide the DE 2515 to any employee who notifies you that
he or she needs to take time off from work due to a nonwork-
related medical condition.

® Provide the DE 2511 to any employee who notifies you that
he or she needs to take time off work to care for a seriously ill
family member or bond with a new minor child.

® Complete and return within two business days the Notice to
Employer of State Disability Claim Filed (DE 2503) or Notice to
Employer of Paid Family Leave Claim Filed (DE 2503F) after
receiving it from the Employment Development Department.

For more information on SDI and to download posters and pam-
phlets, visit www.edd.ca.gov/direp/diind.htm or call 800-480-
3287. For more information on PFL, call 877-238-4373 or visit
www.edd.ca.gov/fleclaimpfl.htm.

Coming soon: Online

The California child support program
serves approximately 2 million children
annually, providing a financial safety net
for families. Employers play a critical
role in ensuring that these children and
families receive their financial support.

Since September 2006, California em-
ployers have had a single location to
send child support wage withholding pay-
ments for their employees: the Califor-
nia State Disbursement Unit (SDU). The

Adjusted Annual

interest rate is 8%

The adjusted annual interest rate for
the period from July 1 through De-
cember 31, 2007, for delinquent
taxes and contributions will be 8
percent (.08), compounded daily.
The daily interest factor will be
.000219. If you have questions re-
garding this rate, contact us at 888-
745-3886.

SDU collects and processes payments for
cases enforced by local child support
agencies and employer wage assign-
ments, including those secured through
private support orders.

Employers no longer need to send checks
to several county child support enforce-
ment agencies. Multiple payments are
sent to the SDU as a single payment ac-
companied with identifying information.

Employers may pay electronically using
the Electronic Payment Association stan-
dard format or through the SDU Web site.
Employers may sign up to have one-time
or recurring debits made from their bank
accounts using the secure SDU Web site.

SDU maintains a centralized receipt of
payments providing a record of payments
if an employee questions the wage with-
holding process.

Employers may have to send checks to

other states if employees work in other
states or if the employer has received

Registration for Employers

EDD will unveil EZREG, its new-
est online service, in late July.
EZREG will enable employers to
register with EDD via the Internet.
Registered employers will be able
to use the Internet to make address
changes or inactivate their ac-
count. Our other online services
allow employers to report quarterly
wage information, file new em-
ployee and independent contrac-
tor reports and make deposits us-
ing the Internet. For more informa-
tion on EZREG and our other
online services, visit:

https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/
index.html.

wage withholding orders from other states.

For more information, call 866-325-1010
between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. Pacific time
or visit www.casdu.com.



http:$500.33
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/
http:www.casdu.com
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Have a federal or
state tax problem?

Taxpayer Advocates .
help when other .
channels fail

Are you experiencing a tax

Tax

Sales and Use Taxes
Property Taxes
Special Taxes and Fees

Contact

Board of Equalization (BOE)

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate, MIC 70
P.O. Box 942879

Sacramento, CA 94279-0070
www.boe.ca.gov/tra/tra.htm
Advocate’s Office: 888-324-2798

BOE Information Center: 800-400-7115

problem with the Internal

Revenue Service or a Califor- °

nia tax agency? Have you

written or called but have

been unable to resolve the °

problem? .
If you have tried working

through the agency’s normal
resolution channels and need

Unemployment Insurance
Employment Training Tax
State Disability Insurance

Personal Income Tax
Withholding

Employment Development Department (EDD)

Taxpayer Advocate Office

P.O. Box 826880, MIC 93
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
www.edd.ca.gov/taxrep/taxetpro.htm
Advocate’s Office: 888-594-4177
Taxpayer Assistance: 888-745-3886

help unraveling your Califor-
nia or federal tax problem,

an agency Taxpayer Advo- .
cate may be able to help.

It is the role of the Taxpayer
Advocate to help resolve a
tax problem when normal
channels fail. The Taxpayer
Advocate can help when
there is a breakdown in tax
processing or communica-
tion.

L]
The advocate will treat your

case with independence, im-
partiality, and confidentiality

while ensuring your rights o
are protected. o
The chart on the right con- .

tains the contact information
for the Taxpayer Advocate
for each agency.

Personal Income Taxes
Franchise Tax

Bank Tax

Corporation Income Tax

Social Security Tax and

Medicare Tax

Federal Unemployment
(FUTA) Tax

Individual Income Tax
Corporate Tax
PartnershipTax

Estate Tax

Nonprofit and Charitable

Organization Tax

Franchise Tax Board (FTB)

Taxpayer Advocate Bureau

P.O. Box 157

Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-0157
www.ftb.ca.gov/aboutFTB/
taxpayer_advocate/index.htm/
Advocate’s office: 800-883-5910
Taxpayer Services: 800-852-5711

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

To find the appropriate taxpayer advocate,
see the IRS Web site:
www.irs.gov/advocate

Advocate’s office: 877-777-4778

Business Tax Help: 800-829-4933

e-File Now!

Under 250 employees? e-File
your Quarterly Wage and With-
holding Report (DE 6) on the
Internet at www.edd.ca.gov. Click
on “Online Services,” or call us at
1-800-796-3524.

You may also use e-File for the
following employment tax forms:

* Report of New Employee(s)
(DE 34)

® Report of Independent
Contractor(s) (DE 542)

* Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)

Small Business Fairs

Free workshops for small businesses pro-
vide information about federal, state, and
local tax and business requirements. Res-
ervations are suggested. For details, go
to www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/tpsched.htm.

Free Seminars Offer
Valuable Tax Help

“CALIFORNIA

We offer free seminars that are custom-
ized to benefit businesses, new and old,
bookkeepers and payroll agents. The
seminars are offered on various dates
throughout the state.

A small sample of these seminars in-
cludes:

Federal/State Basic Payroll Tax Seminars

Concord July 24

Glendale August 22

Riverside July 9

San Jose July 17

State Wage, Hour and Payroll Seminars
San Jose August 21

Van Nuys September 21

For a complete list of these and other
seminars being offered in your area,
visit www.edd.ca.gov/taxsem.
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by the Employment Development Depart-
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