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California employers are required to file
payroll reports and pay the associated taxes.
Failure to report and pay tax obligations may
result in the following actions:

Investigation of your business by the
Underground Economy Operations
unit of EDD.

Payroll tax audit conducted on
your business.

Assessments levied that include taxes,
interest, and penalties up to 120
percent of the amount of contributions.

Criminal charges instituted above
and beyond administrative penalties.

Felony criminal conviction that
includes time in jail or prison, fines
of up to $20,000 per charge or both
imprisonment and fine in addition
to administrative penalties.

Criminal and felony charges can
include restitution of taxes plus
penalties, interest, and cost of the
investigation.

Seizure of your assets, both present
and future.

For general information, call:
(888) 745-3886 or to report fraud, call:
(800) 528-1783 or access EDD’s Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov

EDD, an equal opportunity employer/program,

is a partner in this publication. Auxiliary aids and
services are available upon request to individuals
with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or
alternate formats need to be made by calling
1-888-745-3886 (voice) or TTY at 1-800-547-9565.
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“Underground Economy” refers to those
individuals and businesses that deal in cash
and/or use other schemes to conceal their
activities and their true tax liability from
government license, regulatory, and tax
agencies.

The JESF was established by Executive Order to:

m Develop and share information necessary
to combat the Underground Economy.

Improve the coordination of
forcement activities.

elop methods to pool, focus, and
the enforcement resources of all

JESF Members

Employment Development Department (EDD)

Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE)
Contractors’ State License Board (CSLB)
Franchise Tax Board (FTB)

Board of Equalization (BOE)
Department of Insurance (DOI)

Occupational Safety and Health (CAL/OSHA)

o~ ~ Employment
EDD Development
Department

State of California

California employers have a legal obligation
to provide and maintain a safe workplace for
employees.

Failing to provide a safe workplace can
result in the issuance of citations for alleged
violations of occupational safety and health
regulations.

Serious violations can carry penalties
up to $25,000 each.

Willful, serious violations can carry
penalties up to $70,000 each.

In addition, the California Occupational
Safety Health Administration (CAL/
OSHA\) has the authority to shut down
dangerous equipment and job sites.
CAL/OSHA may refer cases to District
Attorneys for criminal prosecution in
flagrant cases.

Free resources are available to assist
employers with compliance on workplace
safety and health regulation. The CAL/OSHA
Consultation Service provides on-site

visits and compliance assistance including
telephone support, education outreach, and
publications.

Contact CAL/OSHA at (800) 963-9424

Access CAL/OSHA's Web site at
www.dir.ca.gov

To locate CAL/OSHA Consultation Service
Area Offices access CAL/OSHA's Web site at
www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/
consultation % 5Foffices.html
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If you are an employer with employees,
you need to comply with the laws
relating to:

Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Payroll Deduction Statements
Minimum Wage

Overtime

Child Labor

Failing to comply with labor laws can
result in penalties assessed against your
business and may include:

Fines of $250 per worker, per pay
period for failing to issue completed
itemized payroll deduction
statements to the workers.

Fines of $1,000 per worker for
failing to maintain a current workers’
compensation insurance policy for
the workers.

Your business could be issued a
Stop Order Assessment and be
barred from using employee labor
until a valid workers” compensation
insurance policy is secured.

For local office locations and phone
numbers, go to DLSE’'s Home page at

www.dir.ca.gov/dlIse



Under California law, anyone selling tangible
personal property in California must first
obtain a seller’s permit. Additionally, anyone
selling cigarette or tobacco products in
California must also obtain a license prior to
making sales of these products.

Sales Tax

It is illegal to engage in business without
a seller’s permit or after a permit has been
suspended or revoked. Violators may be
subject to:

Misdemeanor fines up to $5,000 and/
or up to one (1) year in county jail.

Cigarette and Tobacco License

It is illegal to sell cigarettes or tobacco
products in this State without a license

or after a license has been suspended or
revoked under the California Cigarette and
Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003.
Violators may be subject to:

Seizure of your cigarettes and/or
tobacco products.

Misdemeanor fines up to five times
the retail value of the seized cigarettes
or tobacco products or $5,000,
whichever is greater, and/or up to one
(1) year in county jail.

Individuals found evading business taxes in
excess of $25,000 in a 12-month period may
be subject to felony prosecution.

Board of Equalization Tax Evasion Hotline:
(888) 334-3300

For questions, call BOE’s Information Center:
(800) 400-7115

Access BOE's Web site at www.boe.ca.gov
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Under California law, any home
improvement or construction work valued
at $500 or more requires a license from the
Contractors’ State License Board (CSLB).

Contracting without a license is illegal.

The first offense for misdemeanor
unlicensed activity carries a maximum
of six (6) months in county jail or an
administrative fine up to $15,000.

A second violation carries a mandatory
90-day county jail sentence.

Third and subsequent convictions
carry a mandatory fine of $4,500 to
$10,000 (or 20 percent of the contract
price), and/or 90-days to one (1) year
in county jail.

For questions, or to report unlicensed
activity, call:

CSLB’s Statewide Investigative Fraud Team:
Northern California: (916) 255-2924
Southern California: (562) 345-7600

Access CSLB’s Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov
(800) 321-CSLB (2752)

CSLB licenses California’s 300,000 contractors and
regulates the construction industry.

California employers are required by law to
maintain workers’ compensation coverage
for their employees. Misrepresentations by
employers to insurance carriers in order to
receive a reduced premium for workers’
compensation coverage and willful failure
to secure workers’” compensation coverage
are violations of the law and could result in
criminal sanctions including jail, prison, and
fines. Examples of violations investigated by
the Department of Insurance include:

Premium Fraud—Making a false or
fraudulent statement for the purpose of
reducing premium, rate, or cost of workers’
compensation insurance is a violation of
Insurance Code Section 11760 or 11880.
Violation of either of these sections is
punishable by up to five (5) years in State
prison and a $50,000 fine.

Willful failure to secure workers’
compensation for one’s employees is a
violation of Labor Code Section 3700.5, a
misdemeanor punishable by up to one (1)
year in county jail and a $10,000 fine for the
first offense.

Contact Information:

Enforcement Branch

Headquarters Office

9342 Tech Center Drive, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95826

Phone: (916) 854-5760

Consumer Hotline
(800) 927-HELP (4357)
8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., M-F

Internet: www.insurance.ca.gov
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The FTB is responsible for administering
California’s income tax programs.

Filing a false State income tax return
or failing to file a State income tax
return is punishable by imprisonment
in the county jail up to one year or in
the State prison, fines up to $50,000
for individuals ($200,000 for
corporations), or both, plus penalties.

Failure to comply with corporation’s
income tax obligations can result

in the suspension of all corporate
powers, rights and privileges.

The FTB may take action to seize
both current and future assets, if you
or your business owes delinquent
State income taxes.

Call:

(800) 852-5711
for income tax questions

Internet: fth.ca.gov



