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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE PROGRAM
As a worker-funded program, the State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) program contributes to the economic 
security of California by providing affordable benefi ts to 
eligible workers.  The Disability Insurance (DI) program 
provides benefi ts to workers who are unable to work 
due to non work-related illness, injury, or pregnancy.  
Although work-connected disabilities are covered by 
Workers' Compensation laws, DI benefi ts may also be 
paid for work-related illnesses or injuries under certain 
circumstances prescribed by law.

Background

Disability insurance was added to the California 
Unemployment Insurance Code in 1946.  California, 
Rhode Island, New Jersey, New York, Hawaii, plus the 
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, are the only states 
that provide disability insurance for their work force.  
California has become a model in DI implementation and 
a pioneer in innovative procedures.  California was:

• The fi rst state to authorize voluntary plans for 
disability insurance coverage.

• The fi rst state to provide SDI coverage for 
agricultural workers.

• The fi rst state to give self-employed persons 
coverage on an elective basis.

• The fi rst state to provide benefi ts to clients 
recovering from alcohol dependency or drug-
induced illnesses while in residence in authorized 
recovery facilities.  (Maximum coverage is 90 days.)

• The fi rst state to offer paid family leave to persons 
caring for seriously ill family members or bonding 
with new minor children.

Who is Covered by SDI?

Approximately 12.8 million California workers are 
covered by the SDI program.  The law requires coverage 
for employees working for employers with payrolls in 
excess of $100 in a calendar quarter.  There are a few 
exceptions.  Those specifi cally excluded are:

• Some domestic workers.

• Some governmental employees.

• Employees of interstate railroads.

• Employees of some nonprofi t agencies.

• Individuals claiming a religious exemption.

Some workers who are not required to participate but 
may elect SDI coverage include:

• Individuals who are employers (sole proprietorships 
and partnerships).

• Self-employed persons. (See the Disability 
Insurance Elective Coverage Fact Sheet, 
DE 8714CC.)

• Individuals in otherwise excluded family 
employment.

• Out-of-state entities of California employers.

• Some governmental employees.

State Plan

The California DI program has both a State Plan and 
Voluntary Plans.  State Plan coverage is mandatory 
for insured employees unless an employer, with the 
consent of his/her employees, chooses Voluntary 
Plan coverage.  Administered by the Employment 
Development Department (EDD), the State Plan is 
fi nanced entirely by California workers through a 
payroll tax on their earnings.  

Effective January 1, 2008, the SDI withholding rate 
decreased to .8 percent (.008).  

The SDI taxable wage limit is $86,698 per employee 
for calendar year 2008.  Both the wage limit and the 
tax rate are set by law.

Taxes collected go into the Disability Fund and may 
be used only for payment of DI or Paid Family Leave 
benefi ts and SDI program administration.

Voluntary Plan
A Voluntary Plan is a private plan approved by the 
Director of the State Employment Development 
Department.  It may be substituted for the State Plan if 
the Voluntary Plan matches the State Plan's benefi ts, 
provides at least one greater benefi t, and costs the 
employee no more than the State Plan.
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About 3.8 percent of California's workers covered by 
SDI are covered through Voluntary Plans.

Employers and employee groups may establish 
Voluntary Plans with mutual consent of the employer 
and a majority of the employees.  An employee may 
choose State Plan coverage even though a Voluntary 
Plan is available where he/she works.

Eligibility and Benefi ts
The DI benefi ts are payable when a covered 
employee suffers a wage loss and cannot work due 
to pregnancy or illness/injury not related to his/her 
job.  Additionally, when an insured employee is 
entitled to temporary or permanent disability, Workers' 
Compensation benefi ts, or a maintenance allowance 
at a rate less than the daily DI benefi t amount, he/she 
may be entitled to DI benefi ts.

For disabilities beginning on or after January 1, 2008, 
benefi ts range from $50 to a maximum of $917 per 
week, and are payable for a maximum of 52 weeks.

To receive benefi t payments, a person must:

• File a claim in accordance with regulations.

• Serve a 7-day nonpayable waiting period.

• Have been paid at least $300 in wages, subject to 
SDI taxes, during the 12-month base period of the 
claim.

• Submit to a reasonable medical examination, if 
required.

• File a certifi cate of disability signed by a duly 
authorized medical or religious practitioner.

Claims are fi led by mail, and checks are usually 
mailed to clients every 2 weeks.

Disqualifi cations
The SDI program is committed to program integrity 
and will take all possible measures to detect and deter 
fraud and protect client benefi ts.  No SDI payments 
can be made to persons who willfully make false 
statements or withhold material facts to gain benefi ts.

A client is ineligible for disability benefi ts:

• When receiving Unemployment Insurance or Paid 
Family Leave payments.

• When receiving full wages (benefi t payments and  
wages added together are limited to the total weekly 
wage, excluding overtime pay, immediately prior to the 
disability).

 
• When in legal custody as a result of a conviction or   

when confi ned by a court order.

• If religious exemption from SDI taxes has been 
fi led.

• If the client is no longer in the labor market.

• When receiving Workers' Compensation at a 
weekly rate equal to or greater than the SDI rate.

Appeals
All clients have the right to appeal to an impartial 
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) concerning 
determinations of eligibility or benefi t amounts.  
Further appeal from an ALJ's decision may be fi led 
with the Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, or 
the Board may set aside the ALJ's decision on its own 
motion.  Decisions of the Board may be reviewed by 
the courts.

Social Security
If a person is permanently disabled, he or she 
should contact the Social Security Administration for 
information about benefi ts under its programs.  The 
individual also should apply for SDI, as receiving 
Social Security does not confl ict with SDI.  For 
additional information, telephone the Social Security 
Administration at 1-800-772-1213.

State Government Employees
State government employees, through a negotiated 
agreement between the State of California and a 
recognized employee organization, may elect to be 
covered by SDI.  For information about SDI for State 
Employees, call 1-866-352-7675.

The EDD administers a separate Non-Industrial 
Disability Insurance (NDI) program for those State 
employees not covered by State Disability Insurance.  
For information about NDI, call 1-866-758-9768.

Paid Family Leave
Persons covered by State Disability Insurance are 
also automatically covered by Paid Family Leave 
insurance.  Paid Family Leave benefi ts are available to 
persons who take time off work to care for a seriously 
ill child, spouse, parent, or domestic partner or to 
bond with a new minor child.  (Please see the Paid 
Family Leave Fact Sheet, DE 8714CF, for further 
information.)

For More Information
For additional information on the SDI program, please 
visit EDD's Internet site at www.edd.ca.gov, or call 
our SDI program representatives at 1-800-480-3287.  
TTY access is available at 1-800-563-2441.

EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program.  
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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