
California's Disability Insurance Elective Coverage 
(DIEC) program provides benefits to eligible business 
owners and self-employed individuals suffering a loss of 
income when they are unable to perform their usual work 
due to illness, injury, or pregnancy.

Background

The DIEC program was created by the California State 
Legislature in 1962 through the direct actions of a state 
legislator acting on behalf of a constituent's unfortunate 
circumstance.  The constituent was being forced to close 
his business, as he was without any disability coverage 
to help offset the expenses during a critical illness.

Through the legislator's concerned actions, California 
became the only state to offer a state-sponsored 
disability insurance program to business owners and 
self-employed individuals on an elective basis.

Today this program serves as a safety net to those 
small business owners, entrepreneurs, or self-employed 
individuals who make up a large portion of companies 
doing business in California.

Who Can Elect to be Covered by DIEC?

Any self-employed individual who receives the major 
part of his or her income from the trade, business, or 
occupation in which he or she is self-employed.

Individual proprietors and general partners are eligible 
to apply for coverage.  It is not required that all active 
general partners be included in the election.  A 
general partnership also includes a husband and wife 
co‑ownership in which both spouses are active in the 
operation and management of the business.  Limited 
partners and corporate officers are not eligible since 
they are considered to be employees subject to the 
mandatory provisions of the California Unemployment 
Insurance Code (CUIC).

DISABILITY INSURANCE ELECTIVE COVERAGE PROGRAM
Major Requirements

•	 You must own your own business or be self-
employed.

•	 You must have a minimum income of $4,600 
annually.

•	 You must possess a valid active license, if required 
by your occupation.

•	 You must be able to perform all of your normal duties 
on a full-time basis at the time your application is 
submitted.

•	 You must derive the major portion of your income 
from your trade, business, or occupation.

•	 Your business cannot be seasonal.

•	 You must stay in the program for 2 complete 
calendar years unless you discontinue your business 
or move out of California.

Eligibility and Benefits

DIEC benefits are payable when a participant cannot 
work due to illness, injury, or pregnancy.

For disabilities beginning on or after January 1, 2008, 
benefits range from $51 to a maximum of $917 per 
week, and are payable for a maximum of 39 weeks.  

To receive benefit payments, your application for 
elective coverage must be approved before you become 
disabled, and you must:

•	 File a claim in accordance with regulations with a 
certificate of disability signed by a duly authorized 
medical or religious practitioner.

•	 Serve a 7-day nonpayable waiting period.
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•	 Have paid contributions for at least one quarter 
during the 12-month base period of the claim.  
Generally, a minimum of 6 months must elapse from 
the effective date of coverage before a valid claim 
may be filed based solely on this election.

•	 Submit to a reasonable medical examination, 
	 if required.

Claims are filed by mail and checks are usually mailed 
every 2 weeks.

What is the Cost?

Premiums are based on net profit reported on Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) Schedule SE.  Each quarter, 
one fourth of this amount is reported as "wages."  For 
the calendar year 2008, premiums are calculated at 
2.26 percent of these "quarterly wages."

For example:  $24,000 (IRS Schedule SE) ÷ 4 = $6,000 
(quarterly wages) x .0226 = $135.60 (quarterly 
premium due).

The maximum annual premium is $1,959.37.

If the participant becomes disabled for a portion of the 
quarter, premiums may be reduced.

The DIEC rate is evaluated and computed each calendar 
year about November 30 to ensure program solvency.

The state makes no revenue on this plan.  Therefore, 
premiums are based on benefits paid and administrative 
costs.

Disqualifications

No disability insurance payments can be made to 
persons who willfully make false statements or withhold 
material facts to gain benefits.  A participant is also 
ineligible for disability benefits:

•	 If coverage has been terminated prior to becoming 
disabled (there is no vested interest).

•	 When in legal custody as the result of a conviction, 
	 or when confined by a court order.

•	 If the participant is no longer in the labor market.

•	 If a quarterly contribution return is delinquent.

Appeals

All participants have the right of appeal to an 
impartial Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) concerning 
determinations of eligibility or benefit amounts.  Further 
appeal from an ALJ's decision may be filed with the 
Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, or the Board 
may set aside the ALJ's decision on its own motion.  
Decisions of the Board may be reviewed by the courts.

Social Security

If a person is permanently disabled, he or she should 
contact the Social Security Administration.  For 
information about benefits under their programs, call 
1‑800‑772‑1213.  The individual should also apply for 
DIEC benefits, as receiving Social Security does not 
conflict with DIEC.

Paid Family Leave

Persons covered by State Disability Insurance are also 
automatically covered by Paid Family Leave insurance.  
PFL benefits are available to persons who take time 
off work to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent, 
or domestic partner or to bond with a new minor child.  
(Please see the Paid Family Leave Fact Sheet, 
DE 8714CF, for further information.)

For More Information

For additional information on the DIEC program:

•	 Visit EDD's Internet site at www.edd.ca.gov;

•	 Contact your nearest Disability Insurance office, 
listed under "Employment Development Department" 
in the State Government section of your telephone 
directory; or

•	 Call the DIEC Unit at (916) 654-6288.

EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program.  Auxiliary aids and services are 
available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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